To Fluff or Not to Fluff

The more I talk to established bloggers about how I should proceed with this little venture, the more I hear about “fluff”. According to Robert Farrington over beatthe9to5.com this is apparently the “perpetual blogger question – do I write fluff content to keep my site going and make Google happy (since it loves recent content), or do I wait until I have something awesome to share?”300x300-8Well, in my case this is a pretty easy question. I say no to fluff!

I started this blog to encourage living authentically, intentionally, and consciously. I will be blogging about the things that I encounter in my real life, and struggle with every day. I do this to stay true to my authentic self. Just so we’re clear here: this isn’t one of those mainstream blogs. I will not be posting about my OOTD or posting #ThirstyThursday pics. I’m sure there are plenty of blogs on the internet that will teach you how to mix patterns or if bangs will look good on you.

To make sure I really drive that point home, here is a recipe for Homemade Vegan Fluff from Aileen Metcalf over at morselsandmoonshine.com. Her blog is absolutely melt-in-your-mouth amazing!

Homemade Marshmallow Fluff – Made Vegan!

Ingredients

  • 1 T. marshmallow root
  • 1 can of chickpea liquid, beans saved for another use
  • 1/2 c. pure maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. vanilla-infused bourbon

Preparation

  1. In a small saucepan, bring your chickpea liquid and marshmallow root to a boil. When it boils, lower the heat slightly and allow it to simmer/reduce for 10 solid minutes – set a timer! This boiling liquid will smell weird, FYI. You want it to reduce to about 1/3 cup.
  2. Strain the marshmallow root out of the liquid.
  3. Return the liquid to the saucepan and add the maple syrup and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Bring this mixture to a boil and, once it’s there, lower the heat to a simmer. Continue to cook the mixture for 8 minutes.
  4. Once it’s ready, pour the cooked liquid into the stand mixer bowl. Whisk the mixture on high for 10 solid minutes – set a timer! Before your eyes, you will see the mixture turn white and whip into a light, fluffy cloud of goodness. Add the remaining teaspoon of vanilla bourbon while it’s mixing.
  5. Boom! There you have it folks. You have a delicious marshmallow fluff to add to your favorite recipes. Consider adding a teaspoon of beet powder for color or cocoa powder for chocolate marshmallow cream!

Authentically yours,
sierra_smiles

Leave a Reply

